Managing Users


Adding an Existing User to a Team

  1. Click on your profile image in the lower-left corner of Social Media Management, followed by Settings.
  2. Click Teams from the menu on the left.
  3. Select the team you would like to add an existing user to.
  4. Click Add Team Member and then search for the user you want to add.

    Tip:

    Administrators can adjust a user's role for each individual channel by following the steps described in our Managing Teams article.


Creating a New User

  1. Click your profile image followed by Settings.
  2. Click Teams from the menu on the left.
  3. Select the team you would like to add a brand new user to.
  4. Click Create New User, then fill out the necessary fields and choose a user role for the new team member. (See an explanation of all user roles and their permissions in our User Roles article).
  5. Click Show Advanced to select feature access (e.g. Content Pool and Audience), user expiration, and geo-targeting (e.g. Languages and Countries).

Deleting a User

  1. Click on your profile image in the lower-left corner of Social Media Management, followed by Settings.
  2. Click Teams from the menu on the left.
  3. Select the team the user is assigned to.
  4. Select the user and then click Remove.
  5. Confirm that you want to delete the user by clicking Remove from Team.

What happens when a user is deleted?

Once a user is deleted, most data created by the user will remain in Social Media Management such as drafts, scheduled posts, Listen searches, Classic Listen projects, teams, channels, and ad accounts. However, any Measure dashboards which were created by the user and shared with other teams will be removed.

While channels and ad accounts connected by the user will not be deleted or disconnected, if the user's access is removed or changed natively (e.g. if Admin status is removed on Facebook), you may receive publishing errors or channel disconnections in Social Media Management.

To prevent any issues, it is highly recommended that any Social Media Management user with a user role of Admin or Team Leader refreshes the connection to any channels the deleted user had connected.

Tip:

Not sure who last connected a channel? Check out our article on Viewing Your Channel's Connection History. While viewing the connection history, any deleted users may appear listed as "undefined."


Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Brandwatch Academy

The Brandwatch Academy is here

Access on-demand courses on the Brandwatch product suite, plus live events to enrich your knowledge.