Your Channel Admin settings offer many features to help you customize your channels and facilitate your experience in Social Media Management. In this article, learn how to navigate to Channel Admin settings and get an overview on the available options.
Note: All features in this article are only available to Social Media Management users with the user role of Team Leader or Admin.
Navigating to Channel Admin
You can access your Channel Admin settings by clicking on the Manage settings (gear) icon > Channel admin in Social Media Management’s left-hand navigation sidebar.
By default, your channels list will be displayed with any channels you have connected to date. Active connected channels will display a green Connected status on them, and disconnected channels will display a red Disconnected status, with the option to reconnect your channel if applicable.
To add a new channel, click the Connect channel button in the top-right corner. Please visit our Connecting Channels articles for a general tutorial on connecting a new channel.
You can search for a channel using the search bar at the top of your channels list, or use the Network or Status drop-down filter to filter your channels by social network.
You can also view your channels by the Connected or Disconnected tabs for quicker filtering.
Editing channels
When you click directly on a channel, you will see the additional details about it.
You will see the network and type, number of followers, and last connected date and time.
Using the Team access tab, you can search for and manage any teams that have access to the channel.
Using the Audit log tab, you can see connection-related events that occurred for your channel.
The possible event types are:
Channel connected: A channel was connected by a user, or Brandwatch Support teams has re-enabled it after an issue (note: we don’t have access to your account, but we can re-enable access for a short time after you mark a channel for deletion, or if the channel was disconnected due a bug in either our systems, or on the social media side)
Channel disconnected: all our connection to this channel was lost, please reconnect it to continue using it
Token invalidated: a user’s authorization was invalidated. If the channel was connected by a different user as well, then the channel is still connected and usable in the platform – we are showing this because the channel can disconnect more easily.
The Access tokens tab shows the available authorizations that the system can use, with information regarding the native account used, and the SMM account that was used for the connection.
Note: “Brandwatch System User” is a virtual user tied to your Meta Business account, indicating that the channel has an Optimized Meta Connection because it has been connected by a Meta user with Full Control access to the owning Meta Business.
Note: In the event that a user has been removed from Social Media Management, you will see a "Connected by: [Undefined]" note in the channel's audit history. Any channel that was last connected by an [Undefined] user is likely to disconnect if the user has lost access to the channel natively, so we recommend that another user with their own access to the channel reconnect itthe channel to SMM as soon as possible.
The Related channels tab shows channels that are related to the currently selected channel in some way.
The possible relations are:
Shared token: the channel was connected with the same social media account
Meta Business: the channel is owned by the same Meta Business
Parent-page: the channel is the parent-page of the currently selected Instagram account
Instagram account: the channel is the associated IG account of the currently selected Facebook page
Using the options in the top-right corner of your channels list, you can bulk mark the channel's messages as read, rename the channel, delete the channel, view the channel on the network natively, or refresh the channel connection.
Bulk mark as read
If you use Engage, you can choose to bulk mark all messages from that channel as read before a specific date. This action can be helpful when you connect a new channel that you previously managed customer engagement for outside of Social Media Management.
For full details, please visit our article on Marking Content As Read in Bulk.
Renaming a channel name
You can easily rename your channel name in your channel management options. The overridden name will only appear internally within your Social Media Management dashboard and will not be visible to your customers. This option can be helpful if you are using Global Facebook Pages and your local page names do not transfer to Social Media Management when you connect your Facebook channels.
Use the Rename channel text box to rename your channel, then click Rename to confirm.
Note: If you have a parent Page on Facebook with multiple child Pages — for example, the main Page for chain restaurant and the Pages for each of its locations — you can see the specific Page handle name from Facebook under each channel.
You can also confirm each child Page's specific name by clicking View on network to open the Page on Facebook natively. Copy and paste the native name into the Rename channel text field to rename your channel in SMM if needed.
Disconnecting or deleting channels
Deleting a channel from Social Media Management will never cause you to lose any information natively on the network, such as posts, comments, replies or anything that was published via Social Media Management.
However, the channel’s data will no longer be visible in Social Media Management and the channel will be permanently deleted from our Social Media Management servers after one day. If you reconnect your channel within that day, your previous historical data from the channel connection will be imported again.
Under your channel options in the top right of the screen, click Delete Channel, then click Delete in the warning pop-up message to confirm.
Warning: Please be aware that if you use the Brandwatch Consumer Research (BCR), BCR and SMM share a connection flow for TikTok, Threads, and LinkedIn. Any TikTok, Threads, and LinkedIn connections that are deleted in SMM will subsequently be deleted and removed as content sources/channels in BCR. Visit our article on LinkedIn, Threads, and TikTok Account Limitations for Brandwatch Suite Customers to learn more.
Note: If you receive an error message when attempting to disconnect/delete a channel, we recommend the following steps:
Close all Brandwatch instances by visiting app.brandwatch.com/logout.
Clear your browser's cache and cookies (select All time if using Chrome).
Test using a private or incognito browser window to eliminate browser or session-related issues.
If any issues persist, please contact our Support team for assistance.
Creating channel groups
Channel groups can be used to organize your channels within your larger team structure. When viewing your content in Publish, channel groups allow you to filter for the content specifically published on those groups of channels. This feature may be useful for global brands who would like to isolate a certain market, or for a brand to group channels per network. For example, you might have a North American team whose channels are grouped by region.
Under your Channel Settings in the left-hand sidebar of Channel Admin, select Channel Groups.
From the top, right-hand side, select Create Group.
Create a name for your channel group and select Save & Continue.
Select Manage Channels.
Check the box beside each channel you would like to include, followed by Save.
Campaign tracking
Campaign tracking allows you to create tracking templates for your channels that add urchin tracking module (UTM) parameters to the links in your Publish post. With UTM parameters, you can track where your website traffic originated from, such as a specific social media post.
Under Channel Settings, select Tracking Templates to create and save tracking templates, or select Campaign Tracking to create and apply tracking templates to specific channels.
Please visit our Campaign Tracking article to learn more about UTM parameters and see detailed setup instructions.
