Skip to main content

Connecting TikTok Channels

In this article, find out what types of TikTok channels you can connect, how to make sure you have the right access, and how to connect your channel to Social Media Management.

In this article, find out what types of TikTok channels you can connect, how to make sure you have the right access, and how to connect your channel to Social Media Management.

Note: The features mentioned in this article are only available to Social Media Management users with a user role of Team Leader or Admin.


What types of TikTok accounts can I connect?

You can connect either TikTok Business accounts or TikTok personal accounts (including Creator accounts) to Social Media Management. Visit TikTok's help center to learn more about the different account types, or check out our blog post for tips on how each account type can benefit your marketing strategies.


What access do I need on TikTok?

To connect a TikTok account to Social Media Management, the only requirement is that you are able to log into the TikTok account successfully via a web browser.


Connecting your TikTok channel to Social Media Management

Once you have verified that you have access to the TikTok account, you can connect your account to Social Media Management by following the steps below.

Note: If you need to reconnect a TikTok channel, follow the steps in our Reconnecting Channels article.

  1. In Social Media Management's left-hand navigation sidebar, click the Manage settings (gear) icon and select Channel admin.

  2. Click Connect channel in the top right.

  3. Select TikTok, then click Continue.
    ​

  4. You can either connect your own TikTok account, or invite another user without Brandwatch access to connect their channel. To proceed with connecting your own account, click Connect with TikTok.
    ​

  5. When the TikTok popup appears, choose any applicable verification method (or skip to the step below if already logged in).

    mceclip2__9_.png

  6. Click Authorize.

  7. Within the Available to connect/reconnect tab, check the box beside any channels you would like to connect. Click Connect channels.

  8. Specify the level of access you would like to grant to the channel. You can choose between Admins only, Specific teams, or All teams. Click Finish.

    Tip: Please visit our Managing Teams article for instructions on setting up a team in your organization.

When complete, you will see a confirmation indicator that your changes will be saved and SMM will refresh.

After, your channel will be available in your channels list with a Connected status.


Inviting another user to connect their channel

During the channel connection prompt, select Invite another user to connect if you would like to invite another user without Brandwatch access to authenticate their owned account with Brandwatch.

This option will generate a link you can share with the user to authenticate their account with Brandwatch.

Stay on the connection screen when you share the link with the user. The link will expire within one hour. After the user has successfully authenticated their account and sees the “Connection” message, click Done on your view of the connection screen to finalize the process.


Managing and deleting TikTok channels

After you connect a TikTok channel, you can manage or delete your channel if necessary within your Channel Admin settings.

Warning: Please be aware that if you use Brandwatch Consumer Research, it shares a connection flow for TikTok content sources and channels with Social Media Management. Any TikTok connections that are deleted in Social Media Management will subsequently be deleted and removed as content sources in Brandwatch Consumer Research.


FAQs and troubleshooting

I received an error during the connection process.

If you have received an error at any stage of the connection process, please check out our System Requirements to make sure your system is compatible. Please also consider reaching out to our Support team for help diagnosing the issue.

I’ve connected my channel but I can’t see it in Social Media Management.

If you have switched your view in Social Media Management to Team View, the channel may not appear if it’s not included in your chosen team). Please either switch to Admin View or select the correct Team View. If you’re in Admin View or in the correct Team already, please contact the Support team.


Did this answer your question?