Skip to main content

Connecting X (Twitter) Channels

In this article, find out what types of X (Twitter) channels you can connect, how to make sure you have the right access, and how to connect the channel to Social Media Management.

In this article, find out what types of X (Twitter) channels you can connect, how to make sure you have the right access, and how to connect the channel to Social Media Management.

Note: The features mentioned in this article are only available to Social Media Management users with a user role of Team Leader or Admin.


What types of X (Twitter) accounts can I connect?

It’s possible to connect any public X (Twitter) account to Social Media Management. Currently, it’s not possible to connect hidden or restricted X (Twitter) accounts due to API restrictions.


What access do I need on X (Twitter)?

In order to connect a X (Twitter) channel to Social Media Management, you will need to have the login credentials to your X (Twitter) account (e.g. password along with the email address, or username). The X (Twitter) channel does not need to be verified.

It will not be possible to verify and connect your X (Twitter) channel to Social Media Management using the associated phone number.


Connecting your X (Twitter) channel to Social Media Management

Note: If you need to reconnect a X (Twitter) channel, follow the steps in our Reconnecting Channels article.

  1. In Social Media Management's left-hand navigation sidebar, click the Manage settings (gear) icon and select Channel admin.

  2. Click Connect channel in the top right.

  3. Select X (Twitter), then click Continue.

  4. You can either connect your own X (Twitter) account, or invite another user without Brandwatch access to connect their channel. To proceed with connecting your own account, click Connect to X (Twitter).
    ​

  5. When the X (Twitter) popup appears, enter your X (Twitter) login credentials.


    If you are already logged into X (Twitter), simply click Authorize App.
    ​

  6. Within the Available to connect/reconnect tab, check the box beside any channels you would like to connect. Click Connect channel(s).

  7. Specify the level of access you would like to grant to the channel. You can choose between Admins only, Specific teams, or All teams. Click Finish.

    Tip: Please visit our Managing Teams article for instructions on setting up a team in your organization.

When complete, you will see a confirmation indicator that your changes will be saved and SMM will refresh.

After, your channel will be available in your channels list with a Connected status.


Inviting another user to connect their channel

During the channel connection prompt, select Invite another user to connect if you would like to invite another user without Brandwatch access to authenticate their owned account with Brandwatch.

This option will generate a link you can share with the user to authenticate their account with Brandwatch.

Stay on the connection screen when you share the link with the user. The link will expire within one hour. After the user has successfully authenticated their account and sees the “Connection” message, click Done on your view of the connection screen to finalize the process.


FAQs and troubleshooting

I received an error during the connection process.

If you have received an error at any stage of the connection process, please check out our System Requirements to make sure your system is compatible. Please also consider reaching out to our Support team for help diagnosing the issue.

I’ve added my channel but I can’t see it in Social Media Management.

If you have switched your view in Social Media Management to Team View, the channel may not appear if it’s not included in your chosen team. Please either switch to Admin View or select the correct Team View. If you’re in Admin View or in the correct team already, please contact the Support team.


Did this answer your question?