After you have connected your channels to Social Media Management, there may be times when your channels disconnect. When a channel disconnects, Brandwatch has lost access to it and can no longer index data and content from it until you have reconnected the channel to our platform. In this article, learn how to quickly reconnect or relink a channel.
Tip: Channels can disconnect for many reasons, such as native network disruptions or changes you may have made to your social account. Visit our help center articles to get an understanding of the most common reasons for channel disconnections and some easy steps you can take to prevent disconnections.
Note: If reconnection issues persist, we recommend attempting the reconnection in an incognito browser window to prevent potential session-related issues.
Note: All features in this article are only available to Social Media Management users with the user role of Team Leader or Admin.
In the event that one of your channels disconnects, the user who connected the account will receive an email notification and also see a notification on their home dashboard in Social Media Management to reconnect.
The notification email will notify you about any disconnected channels you have and the reason(s) why they disconnected.
At any time, you can view your channel disconnection information by clicking on the channel in your Channels list in Administration and clicking the Audit Log tab.
In your channels list in Channel admin, you will also see a Disconnected notice next to any channel that requires reconnection.
To reconnect a channel to Social Media Management, please follow the steps below:
From Social Media Management's left-hand navigation sidebar, click on the Settings (cog) icon > Channel admin.
Find the disconnected channel in your channels list and click Reconnect to the right of the channel.
When prompted via the pop-up screen, log into the native network and accept any authentication requests.
Once complete, you will see your channel reconnect and redirect to your Channels list. Your channel will be available with a status update to Connected in your Channels list.
