Connecting a Pinterest account to Social Media Management allows you to create and schedule or publish pins to your Pinterest channel using Publish. In this article, learn how to connect your Pinterest channel to Social Media Management and troubleshoot basic connection issues.
Note: The features mentioned in this article are only available to Social Media Management users with a user role of Team Leader or Admin.
Tip: To learn how to create and publish pins for your Pinterest channel using Publish, visit our article on Creating a Pinterest Pin.
What access do I need on Pinterest?
To connect a Pinterest channel to Social Media Management, you will need to have access to the Pinterest account or have owner-level permission for the account.
During the connection process, you will be asked for the Pinterest account’s login credentials.
Connecting your Pinterest channel to Social Media Management
Provided you have access to the Pinterest account, or are the account owner, you can connect it to Social Media Management by following the steps below.
Note: If you need to reconnect a channel, follow the steps in our Reconnecting Channels article.
In Social Media Management's left-hand navigation sidebar, click the Manage settings (gear) icon and select Channel admin.
Click Connect channel in the top right.
Select Pinterest, then click Continue.
You can either connect your own Pinterest account, or invite another user without Brandwatch access to connect their channel. To proceed with connecting your own Facebook account, cClick Connect to Pinterest.
When the Pinterest login popup appears, enter your Pinterest account login credentials and click Next.
On the Authorize app screen, click Give access.
Within the Available to connect/reconnect tab, check the box beside any channels you would like to connect and click Connect Channels.
Specify the level of access you would like to grant to the channel. You can choose between Admins only, Specific teams, or All teams. Click Finish.
Tip: Please visit our Managing Teams article for instructions on setting up a team in your organization.
When complete, you will see a confirmation indicator that your changes will be saved and SMM will refresh.
After, your channel will be available in your channels list with a Connected status.
Inviting another user to connect their channel
During the channel connection prompt, select Invite another user to connect if you would like to invite another user without Brandwatch access to authenticate their owned account with Brandwatch.
This option will generate a link you can share with the user to authenticate their account with Brandwatch.
Stay on the connection screen when you share the link with the user. The link will expire within one hour. After the user has successfully authenticated their account and sees the “Connection” message, click Done on your view of the connection screen to finalize the process.
FAQs and troubleshooting
I received another error during the connection process.
If you have received an error at any stage of the connection process, please check out our System Requirements to make sure your system is compatible. Please also consider reaching out to our Support team for help diagnosing the issue.
I’ve connected my channel but I can’t see it in Social Media Management.
If you have switched your view in Social Media Management to Team View, the channel may not appear if it’s not included in your chosen team. Please either switch to Admin View or select the correct Team View. If you’re in Admin View or in the correct team already please contact the Support team.
