Scheduling content is a great way to plan your marketing strategies in advance, lighten your team's manual task workload, and share your content roadmap with your coworkers.
When scheduling content in Social Media Management, you can choose a date and time for your posts to be published. Social Media Management takes care of the rest by automatically pushing your content live at the scheduled time.
In this article:
Scheduling a Post in Social Media Management
Scheduling content is available for all networks supported in Publish.
While creating a post in the Publish Editor, scroll down the left-hand section of the Editor and click to open the Schedule section.
- Select a date and a time to schedule your post. Your local time zone is used by default, but you can choose another from the drop-down list.
- Review the scheduling time at the bottom of the Schedule section.
Alternatively, you can also schedule a post by clicking on a future date in the Publish Calendar and clicking Add Post. That creates a new post scheduled to that date.
When your scheduled post is published, the creator and approver of the post will receive an email notification.
A scheduled post will only appear on the chosen network once published. Scheduling on a native network and scheduling in Social Media Management are separate, except for the Facebook native scheduling feature described below.
With Facebook, Social Media Management also features a graph displaying the times when your fans were most active over the past seven days. This can help you determine the most effective time to schedule your post.
Pushing Content to the Facebook Queue
You can schedule your content in Social Media Management and have it show in the native Facebook scheduler as well. This is useful if you're working with a publishing flow that includes ad creation in the Facebook Business Manager.
All you need to do to schedule a post natively is to check the Add to Facebook queue box under the scheduling options in the Publish post editor. Posts can be scheduled up to 28 days in advance using the Facebook queue option.
If a post is scheduled natively on Facebook, it can’t be edited in Social Media Management anymore. Changes to the post must be made in Facebook and won't be reflected in Social Media Management until the post is published. A natively scheduled post can still be deleted from the Facebook queue in Social Media Management.
Unscheduling and Moving a Post Back to Draft
If needed, you can unschedule a post to return it to Draft state for editing.
This feature is only available to Social Media Management users with a user role of Editor or above.
- In Publish, locate your scheduled post and open it.
- Look for the Schedule module on the left-hand side of the screen.
- Click the X icon to the right of the displayed date and time.
- Click Back or navigate to any other area of the platform.
Your post will now be found in Drafts again without a date and time. By default, other drafts containing dates and times will appear first in the list of drafts. Look below these to find your new, unscheduled draft.
Please bear in mind that posts scheduled to the Facebook queue cannot be edited or unscheduled in Social Media Management.
Rescheduling or Unscheduling in Bulk
Need to unschedule multiple posts or shift their scheduled time? Instead of rescheduling each post individually, you can save time by visiting Publish > Scheduled and adjusting the scheduled status for multiple posts in bulk. This allows you to move the scheduled time for your selected posts (e.g. by a certain amount of hours or days) or send them back to Drafts.
For more information, visit our full article on rescheduling and unscheduling posts in bulk.