Troubleshooting Revoked Facebook Page Permissions

This article covers troubleshooting for Facebook and Instagram channel issues resulting from revoked Facebook Page permissions. These types of issues can arise from channel disconnections or publishing errors, or as a consequence of certain Facebook Page or Instagram account permissions being revoked from Brandwatch.


What causes revoked permission issues?

When a Facebook Page or Instagram account gets connected to Social Media Management, we require permissions to manage the asset on your behalf. It means that the user connecting the channel is asked by Facebook to explicitly grant those permissions. A channel can only be connected and successfully used in Social Media Management if all required permissions are granted.

However, Facebook does not just ask permissions for the specific Page you're trying to connect. Instead, they ask you to re-confirm all permissions that have been granted for all pages in the Business Manager that are connected to Social Media Management.

If you experience frequent channel disconnections or publishing errors within Social Media Management, it might be related to the permissions of one channel being revoked by the connection of another channel.


Restore permissions for Facebook or Instagram channels

You can restore Facebook Page permissions from either within Social Media Management or on Facebook natively.

Restore permissions from within Social Media Management

To restore the permissions for your channels from within Social Media Management, you can simply reconnect your channels and grant the needed permissions during the reconnection flow. You'll have to be an Admin or Team Lead user in Social Media Management, and have Full Control access to the Facebook Page(s).

  1. In Social Media Management's left-hand navigation sidebar, click the Manage settings (gear) icon and select Channel admin.Screenshot 2023-05-03 at 9.58.31 AM.png
  2. Click Add Channels in the top right.Screenshot 2023-08-07 at 11.17.42 AM.png
  3. Click Connect under Facebook or Instagram.
  4. A pop-up window from Facebook will open. If requested, log into the relevant Facebook account.
  5. In the Facebook pop up, click on the Choose what you allow link to see the list of permissions granted.
    Screen_Shot_2022-10-24_at_9.47.12_AM.png
  6. Choose Select All for all of the checkbox options to grant all of the permissions for all of the Facebook Pages listed. You must select all of the Facebook Pages in the permissions list. Please note that Social Media Management will never retrieve data for Facebook Pages that you choose not to connect to our platform, regardless of the permissions you grant here. After you have selected all of the checkboxes, click Continue at the bottom of the pop-up menu to return to Social Media Management.
    Screen_Shot_2022-10-24_at_9.58.13_AM.png

  7. In Social Media Management, select all channels that need to be reconnected to Social Media Management. Alternatively, go to the tab Connected Channels administrated by your organization and select any number of already connected channels from there. Those channels will be reconnected to Social Media Management with the updated permissions. Click the Connect Channels button in the bottom right.
    Screen_Shot_2022-10-24_at_10.23.20_AM.png
  8. Select your team(s) to add the channels to, and then click Finish.

You have now granted all required permissions for all Facebook Pages and Instagram accounts that are, or need to be, connected to Social Media Management. Any user who connects additional Facebook assets to Social Media Management in the future can simply click the Continue as *username* button at the start of Facebook's approval flow. That will always grant permissions to the new assets without revoking already granted permissions.

Restore permissions on Facebook natively

You can also restore permissions for your pages on Facebook natively. In that case, you will need to have Full Control access to those Pages on Facebook.

  1. Log into the relevant Facebook account.
  2. Click on your profile icon in the top right and navigate to Settings and Privacy > Settings from the drop-down menu.
    Screen_Shot_2022-10-24_at_9.51.13_AM.png

  3. Scroll down and select the Business Integrations section.
    Screen_Shot_2022-10-24_at_9.52.00_AM.png

  4. Select View and edit next to Brandwatch.
    Screen_Shot_2022-10-24_at_9.52.56_AM.png

  5. Grant all the permissions that are listed in the pop-up screen, and click Save.

Any disconnected channels can now be reconnected to Social Media Management with all required permissions.


Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Brandwatch Academy

The Brandwatch Academy is here

Access on-demand courses on the Brandwatch product suite, plus live events to enrich your knowledge.